Photography

I have been taking photographs for a long time. A really long time. And I still cringe when someone says the word “professional” in regards to me. I thought that was just me and my inferiority complex or the idea of labeling what I do. As it turns out, it’s not just me.

There are people who jump in and suddenly call themselves professionals and are just naturally gifted at what they do. Then there are those who do the same thing, but with less impressive results. And then there are people like me, who love photography, who breathe it just as much as we breathe air and yet, we still cringe when someone says “This is my friend she is a professional photographer.”

When I think of professional photographer I think of people whose work I idolize and can’t even imagine putting myself into their category. Ever.

Photography, to me, is about learning. Every time I pick up my camera it is going to teach me something. Sometimes those things are wonderful and sometimes those things make me re-examine how I approach everything about photography. Sometimes my camera teaches me lessons….and not just ones regarding photography, but about life.

So, I don’t tell people that I am a professional photographer…I state that I am simply… a photographer. I capture images. It’s a craft I love and will never stop doing, no matter how old I am. And I will never consider that I have mastered the art of photography, because I know that many years from now I will still be learning.

When my mother told me to learn something new each and every day, I wonder if she knew I would follow that advice so well ? Every single day for the past who knows how many years I have continued to take that advice and learn something new! (Thank you, Mom!)

A great photograph is a full expression of what one feels about what is being photographed in the deepest sense, and is, thereby, a true expression of what one feels about life in its entirety.  ~Ansel Adams

Leave a Reply

