Inspired by…..{Alice Guy-Blaché}

I find inspiration in many forms and in many ways. I have found inspiration sometimes just by taking a drive and finding a new place that I have never been. Sometimes I see vintage clothing or jewelry and think I need to coordinate a photoshoot around that era or style. I find inspiration on Pinterest by looking at work by other photographers and artists. I find inspiration watching videos and movies and vintage films. A while back I discovered some silent films by Alice Guy-Blaché and was mesmorized by them. (I love silent films anyway, but some of these are hand colored reels…and so amazing!)

 Alice Guy-Blaché was born in 1873 and was a French pioneer filmmaker and she is considered to be one of the first directors of a fiction film and one of the first female directors in the motion picture industry. She was an innovator and employed special effects, using double exposure masking techniques and even running film backwards. She was ahead of her time in so many ways!

In 1907 she married Herbert Blaché and in 1910 they partnered with George A. Magie to form the Solax Company, which was the largest pre-Hollywood studio in America. They were working out of Fort Lee, New Jersey and with other studios in the area it was quickly becoming the film studio capital of America. (Can you believe that???? Not in Hollywood!!)


She placed a large sign in her studio that said “Be Natural”…now I don’t know about you, but I would really love to have one of those!


If you have a moment, take a little time to watch her films, and be inspired by her work, the beauty and simplicity of the films. Celebrate the woman who inspired so many at a time when women were not directors and producers and yet she rose above it to be one.


I adore her and I hope you will find inspiration in her work as well.

Leave a Reply

