May Photographer Spotlight {Inspiration}

I had this wonderful (I thought!) idea to every month pick a photographer that I love, ask them questions and spotlight their work. I asked a few photographers if they would be interested and am so excited that they said “Yes”. (I already have my photographers lined up for the next 3 months! Yay!)


One of the most wonderful things about being a photographer is meeting people. I have met some amazing people who are clients and some amazing people who are fellow photographers. I feel very honored to be in the company of some of these photographers.


For May, the photographer I am going to spotlight is very special to me. (She is almost like a daughter to me, in fact, I actually call her my daughter! lol). She is a 17 year old from Utah and she will blow you away with her wonderful photography. (And yes, you read that right, she is 17 and she is super amazing!). She is a natural talent and she has a great eye. She is still evolving and finding her way in the photography world, but I have no doubt that we all will be seeing some pretty great things from her. So without further delay, here is my May Photographer…..

Rachel Shearer

First of all, a little bit about Rachel….


My name is Rachel Shearer–aspiring photographer and hopeful teenager! My dream is, of course, to become a fabulous photographer, but more than that, I want to be a truly good person. I don’t want to step on everyone to get to the top, I want to be the stepping stone for those that are hurting. Sometimes the only thing that can keep me going when I want to stay in bed and cry is the thought that I might be able to help someone else because of the experience I had. I want to be someone people know they can go to for help, I want to be as Christlike as humanly possible! 

I took a photography class because I thought it sounded like fun, and had no idea what it would lead to! About a year ago (May) was when I realized how much I really loved it, and started working to become a photographer. I’m mostly self-taught with DSLR’s and PhotoShop. I’m definitely still learning–and have a long way to go, but I’ve also come a long way! I’ve learned how to make actions (right now only for CS) and sell them for low prices in my shop! I mostly post on my Facebook page, but I’m starting to blog a lot more–and of course I’m on pinterest! Amazing site for inspiration 🙂



Now for some fun questions. Let’s get to know her a little more!

1. Use one sentence to describe your style of photography.

My style is still kind of being developed, I’m not really sure how to describe it–but I love a mix of vintage and modern!

2. When did you realize you wanted to be a photographer?

About a year ago… I used to want to be a lawyer, then towards the end of a beginning photography class, I realized that it was what I truly loved!


3. Where do you find your inspiration?

I find inspiration through most everything–fashion, magazines, colors, movies, music, books, just anything around me!


4. What was the best photography advice anyone gave you?

Being told that with my passion no one could keep me from succeeding. I’ve had more than one person tell me I shouldn’t major in photography–because it isn’t a viable life choice. But because of people, like you Lori, that keep pushing me by telling me I’ve got talent, I refuse to give up!


5. Describe yourself (not your photography) in 3 words.

Loving, Passionate, Steadfast


6. If you could only take one single photograph to signify your life, what would it look like?

It would be one of the really busy photographs–lots of props, but with the model the main focus. I would have a model surrounded by things I love–cameras and things that signify who I am and what I love. It would be a mixture of vintage and modern, color, in style and my style–just something to display who I am.


7. Do you ever shoot self-portraits? 

Not really, I find it kind of difficult with a DSLR. Plus, I’m really self conscious so I’m super harsh when taking my own photo.


8. What has been the biggest challenge you have had while following your dream of being a photographer? What has been the greatest reward of following your dream of being a photographer?
I think the biggest challenge has just been trying to fight off the naysayers. There’s always going to be that one person who says I can’t make a living off of photography, that I’m not that good, and a lot of other things that have been not nice. There are going to be professional photographers telling me I shouldn’t be presenting myself the way I am because I’m just a teenager. There are going to be people trying to belittle me every which way. It’s been challenging to deal with them with class–I have most definitely wanted to fight back, but I choose not to because I don’t like fights. I won’t avoid problems, but I will avoid a fight if at all possible. 

Without a doubt, the greatest reward from photography for me, has been the boost it’s given me. It’s boosted my self confidence, my happiness, even my social skills! Because of photography I’ve made amazing friends, reconnected with old friends, and even learned who wasn’t a friend. Photography has helped shape my life!

9. When you are feeling uninspired what do you do to spark your creativity?

I step back, and don’t think about looking for inspiration. I take a break and just do other things, and before long I’m hit with an idea for a shoot!


10. If you were going to travel for a year and could only pack what would fit into 1 average sized backpack, what would you pack? (Food you will be getting along the way, so you don’t need to account for that!)

A few changes of clothes (sealed with those super sealer things that suck all the air out so that take up barely any space. My camera, a laptop, soap and other basic hygiene products, my cell phone of course! My memory foam pillow (also sealed in a magic bag), my wallet (with all it’s contents), annnd that’s probably all I can fit.


11. Are there any movies or books that have inspired your photography? If so, which ones?

Oh there are just so so many! I literally can’t even list them. I’m a total movie geek, I love books, and I’ve taken a little inspiration from nearly every single one!


12. If you could photograph one person, who would it be and why?

I would die if I could photograph Taylor Swift! She’s gorgeous, completely photogenic, I love the styling of all of her shoots, and she’s such an inspiring person. I just love her!


13. Have there been moments when you felt you should throw in the towel and find a new career? If so, what did you do to get yourself out of that place?

Honestly, no. In fact, I keep thinking that if photography doesn’t work out for me, I’m screwed, because photography is all I can think of doing!


14. If you were given $1000 would you spend it on photography equipment or going to a photography workshop? Why?

I would LOVE to attend a workshop, but I think I would get equipment. I don’t have the best equipment–used camera and lens, and that’s all I have as far as actual equipment. I love my camera, but I definitely need some newer stuff!


15. If you could pass along any advice to new photographers what would it be?
Don’t charge until you’re sure you’re ready. Taking portraits as a career is so much different than taking them of your friends. Sometimes people go into it before they know their camera or even what they’re getting into, and are far too overwhelmed! It’s best to be ready so that you won’t want to give up, then jump right into the thick of it all


If you want to check out Rachel’s work or stop by her FB page and say “Hi”, here are the links to her pages again! She has some beautiful images, so be sure to check her out!


Leave a Reply

