Goals….and Happiness

I keep a notebook of all the things I want to work on and all the ideas that come into my head. I started mapping them out as goals I wanted to accomplish. Not just tidbits written down on paper, but actual, true and very real goals.

This has also translated into real life too. While I was working on those, I decided I needed to set some personal goals too. (And I don’t mean goals like change my weight, hair, etc….those I am quite content with!) It’s funny, but anytime I make a list of the things I want in life the first things are always “to be happy and to be loved”. Well, I have those things. JOY! My mom always said to me to find someone who loves you and makes you happy is a wonderful thing and to treasure it. So, I penned that down too and started writing about the things that make me happy and make me feel loved.

My life is by no means perfect, but I am happy. I have a husband who adores me (and who is adored right back!) and children and family that I love and share quality time with.  I have amazing friends. I seriously have no idea what I would do without my friends. They keep me sane in the most insane times and they support and encourage my art. They also provide me with an outlet when I am frustrated or bored and they share lots of laughs and fun with me too!

So, even on days when I am feeling a tad lackluster and uninspired, I can now look at these bits of paper and be reminded of the joy in my everyday life. It only takes a moment to really focus on the things that are important and the things that bring you the greatest happiness. I love finding joy and happiness in unexpected little places…..and I am not going to check that off my list of goals. I want that one to perpetually be something that I strive to achieve!

Leave a Reply

