Community

I am very fortunate to belong to some amazing photography forums. Photographers are able to privately talk to other photographers and ask questions, get advice, ask for photo critiques, and to gain support when things are not going as planned.


Recently, I brought a problem of mine to one of my photography groups and I was very hesitant to bring it up, but I did anyway. And I am so glad that I did. They offered support and help and advice and let me know that they were all there for me.


It made me think of how lucky we are that we can just hop online and we have a wealth of knowledge at our fingertips. We have people we have never met who have been in similar situations who are willing to jump in and help you solve a problem or just listen to you vent. 


I know that everyone who has a camera phone is considered a photographer now, but I really believe that it takes a special person to be a photographer. You not only see with your eyes, but with your heart and your artistic creativity. It really is not just pointing and clicking a button. 


Photography forums can provide us with a sense of community…of a photography family that supports us and encourages us. I am not sure how photographers got by without this kind of support before, but I don’t know what I would do without it now. There is one specific group that I belong to that is just amazing. They are supportive, kind, caring, and quite resourceful. I consider them my photography family and am very blessed to know them all.


If you have not found resources and community online I suggest you find it now, there are a lot of groups out there and you just have to find the perfect fit for you whether you are just starting out or whether you have been in the business a long time. Having support in this industry goes a long, long way. And I am grateful for it every single day!


So, to all of the photographers out there who support other photographers, I would like to say “Thank you” for representing the industry in such a professional and classy manner. Thank you for your support, encouragement, advice, and for befriending your fellow photographers. You really do rock!

One thought on “Community

Leave a Reply

