Authentic

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary the word authentic is defined as:

true to one’s own personality, spirit, or character”

and that really has me thinking about my blog and my business. I don’t feel like I have been being authentic here. I don’t feel that I have been true to me and my character or my spirit. You see, I have decided to keep most personal things to myself. I had a personal blog and because of a few stalker-type people I had to get rid of it. (It’s not gone, but you need a password to access it.)

My personal life has been off limits because I don’t want to go through that again and I feel like making that decision made me sacrifice a piece of me in order to keep my privacy. I am normally an open book and I talk about everything. I brought this up to my photography group and they were all so supportive and so wonderful about it all. They encouraged me to do what I felt was right and what I thought was best for me, my business, and my family.

I might post a personal blog here and there, but I am making a decision to not post photos of my family on my blog. They have a right to their privacy and I am going to respect that. This is a huge leap for me, so we shall see how this goes! 

My business is thriving and I don’t know what the future holds for it, but I know that I want to see it continue to grow. I have ideas and plans and dreams, and I have a wonderful support system in place to help me achieve everything I want.  I am grateful for them each and every day!


Leave a Reply

