Not the whisperer….

I belong to several photography forums and one of the things I have noticed is that when photographers talk about getting negative email, 99% of the time it ends up being from someone they know. Whether the person is jealous of their work or them in general, who knows. But I see it talked about quite frequently anyway.

I received a nasty email the other day. It had nothing to do with my photography and it was from someone I dated over 25 years ago. Clearly, someone has not moved on with their life. After I finished laughing, I tried to muster up enough compassion to at least feel sorry for the guy and I was actually surprised to find out that I had none left for him. You see, I only cut people out of my life if they deserve it. I give people chance after chance and then when they have proven over and over again who they really are….well, then it’s time to move forward and never look back.

So photographers, artists, writers…whatever you do….just remember that there are going to be people out there who want to say mean things to you. They will want to try to hurt your feelings and belittle you, but they only have power if you give it to them. So don’t.

I have an amazing life. I have a the best husband, kids and grand-daughter in the world. I have a career that I love and it is thriving. In fact, I am awaiting confirmation of my images being used in a book and featured in a magazine. I was recently contacted by a stylist in Los Angeles area who wants me to collaborate with a fashion photographer from Nova Scotia on a shoot. These are the things I wake up and are grateful for each and every morning. I am surrounded by creative, artistic and phenomenal people. I have people around me who love me, flaws and all, and I love them right back. I’m not stuck in a dead end job or a dead end marriage and I refuse to let anyone make me unhappy.

Each day you have choices. You can let someone else define your day with their vile behavior or you can define it yourself and one your own terms. Don’t ever let anyone stand between you and what you want for your life. Life is too short, so get out there with your camera or paint or whatever you are doing and just reach for the stars. There’s no telling what you will accomplish.

My awesome and wonderful friend Vicki sent this to me and everyone should remember this. There are going to be people out there who are jealous or mean or just hateful, pathetic losers. You don’t need their approval in your life. Move forward and be happy. Make that choice.

I did.

One thought on “Not the whisperer….

Leave a Reply

