Halloween Memories {Personal}

My kids are still so excited about going out to trick or treat tonight. By the time I was their age I had stopped going out to trick or treat. My mom would get ready to take my younger brother out and as soon as she was out of sight we would turn the porch light off, turn on scary movies and eat that candy. By the time they got home we always used the excuse of “Well, not many people were coming by anymore, so we turned the light off.” Yep. We were stinkers.

I can’t even remember what I dressed up for on most Halloweens. It’s funny how that was SOOOOO important at the time and now I can’t even remember the costumes. (Money well spent, Mom! lol). The only costume I can remember is a witch costume I had. I had the pointed hat and this awesome deep green silk skirt that had the frayed edges around the bottom. In my head it’s still pretty spectacular.

The things that I do remember about Halloween were spending time with my mom and my grandmother. And sorting candy. Yep. Had to sort it. And then the trading would begin. Mom would try to limit our candy intake by taking the candy and putting it up. As a parent now I know that really means trying to keep your kids from bouncing off the walls and giving yourself a much deserved snack. (We call it the candy tax. We take payment in forms of good chocolate, Snickers, Twix bars, Spree, etc. We do not accept payment of the candy tax in licorice, fruit, or gummy snacks. ☺)

We have had so much going on lately that we realized last night that this is the first year we didn’t carve pumpkins. It’s a little sad, but that just means next year we will be super creative and have the most amazing pumpkins EVER.

Eventually our kids will be older and they won’t want to get dressed up in costumes or go trick or treating, so we are still enjoying these moments as we have them. They grow up too quickly. I’m sure that is how my mom felt when we all outgrew getting excited about costumes and trick or treating.

Leave a Reply

