Inspiration

“What inspires you to create art?”

I hear that a lot. Especially when I have created a piece that is odd and strange and ….well, a bit out there. Inspiration, for me, comes from many places. Dreams especially. I have bizarre dreams and sometimes I think it’s just the artist brain gathering ideas and presenting them like “What should we do next?”

Sometimes I see a painting and really like the colors and think it will be the perfect combination to create a texture. We had frost on our windows once and I took a photo of it to use as an overlay on some winter photos. Sometimes the simple things work really well too.

I also love looking at Pinterest. Pinterest is my go-to place when I want to relax. I can still keep my brain occupied and yet, let the creative part of my brain wander around.

I love looking at other photographer’s work, but I don’t try to duplicate what has already been done. Sometimes I will notice that an idea or concept is the same, but that they were executed very differently. It’s a very cool thing to notice that there is another person out there who thinks along the same artistic lines that you do and that you aren’t alone in your somewhat bizarre thinking!

And I think that is what inspires me most…..the realization that my brain is free to explore whatever it chooses to. No matter how weird, bizarre, or even freaky people might think it is, it’s mine. I created it. These ideas have to come out and I have to create them to put them aside and move on.

If you are a photographer or an artist and you want to create, DO IT. Explore those sides. Does it mean you have to put them in your portfolio? No. But it does mean that you had the guts to create something from your vision, your perspective, and created a piece that is uniquely your own. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes and don’t be afraid to ruffle feathers. Art isn’t about playing it safe. Art is about expressing who you are and what you see. The good, the bad, and even the ugly.

If you want to create…..look within you. Listen to those little voices and what they are saying. Don’t be afraid to go outside of your comfort zone. If you play it safe, you will never know what you could have achieved!

One must work and dare if one really wants to live.
~Vincent Van Gogh
Leave a Reply

